Rabbit Hole; Repulsion (1965)

Rabbit Hole is a new thing I’ll do where I’ll talk/rant about one of my favorite movies.

I just rewatched Repulsion, Roman Polanski’s masterpiece in my opinion, though he made lots of amazing movies, but nothing came close to this except maybe a very similar film that deals with the same subject, The Tenet which he starred and directed, by still didn’t beat Repulsion for me.

CFvEyPOUUAEPpUl

CFvExAIVAAEoLuF

I still remember the first time I watched this movie. Simply because it’s the most terrifying non-horror movie I’d ever watched. Not an easy watch, deeply unsettling, I had it stuck in my head for weeks after I had seen it. Polanski’s portrait of a troubled woman is unreal, a woman who since the very beginning we can feel her loneliness, her shallow eyes reflects how alienated she is, how she is living in her own world and slowly descend to madness in such a way that is truly haunting best representation of the isolation and fear and agony that surrounds an insane mind.

“I must get this crack mended..” she knows something is terribly wrong, does she ever seek anyone?

CFvExiQUkAAFeRG

CFvEyoiVIAEVKcY

Everything about this movie is perfect, the cinematography is surreal and terrifying, Catherine Deneuve gives the best performance of her career. The whole thing is an intense experience. The end left me speechless. You know why she learnt to keep quit, why she never seek anyone. It’s a must see, I also made a playlist called “Carole’s Illusion” because I couldn’t get over this movie.
http://8tracks.com/mixes/6707157/player_v3_universal

Carole’s Illusion from TheRealRadwa on 8tracks Radio.

Author: ホワイトノイズ

Visual Artist and Graphic Designer. Interested in white noise, minimalism, sci-fiction, generative art, patterns, glitch, vhs errors, non-fiction, new media art, drones, visual poetry, experimental languages, light and space

Leave a Reply

